Giving to Physics: Physics Chair's Challenge Begins Now! Make an impact on our students...

Department of Physics Faculty At A Glance

Dr. Henry Abarbanel

Dr. Michael Anderson

Dr. Daniel Arovas

Dr. Richard Averitt

Dr. Julio Barreiro

Dr. Dimitri Basov

Dr. James Branson

Dr. Adam Burgasser

Dr. Leonid Butov

Dr. Alison Coil

Dr. Eva-Maria S. Collins

Dr. Max (Massimiliano) Di Ventra

Dr. Patrick Diamond

Dr. Fred Driscoll

Dr. Daniel Dubin

Dr. Olga Dudko

Dr. Michael Fogler

Dr. George Fuller

Dr. Kim Griest

Dr. Benjamin Grinstein

Dr. Alexander Groisman

Dr. Jorge Hirsch

Dr. Michael Holst

Dr. Terence Hwa

Dr. Kenneth Intriligator

Dr. Elizabeth Jenkins

Dr. Suckjoon Jun

Dr. Brian Keating

Dr. Dusan Keres

Dr. David Kleinfeld

Dr. Quinn Konopacky

Dr. Julius Kuti

Dr. Aneesh Manohar

Dr. M. Maple

Dr. John McGreevy

Dr. Thomas Murphy

Dr. Michael Norman

Dr. Thomas O'Neil

Dr. Hans Paar

Dr. Jeremie Palacci

Dr. Ivan Schuller

Dr. Vivek Sharma

Dr. Oleg Shpyrko

Dr. Sunil Sinha

Dr. Douglas Smith

Dr. Clifford Surko

Dr. David Tytler

Dr. Massimo Vergassola

Dr. Shelley Wright

Dr. Congjun Wu

Dr. Frank Wuerthwein

Dr. Avi (Avraham) Yagil

Science in the News

UCSD Physics Awards

Physics Professor David Kleinfeld has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS)

The fellows and members will be inducted at the academy's annual ceremony on October 10 in Cambridge, Mass. They were nominated and elected by current members through an... Read More

Physics Professor Ivan Schuller has been appointed as a recipient of the 2015 Lise Meitner Award
He is being recognized for his contributions to physics and in particular for "For creating the field of metallic superlattices and recognizing the impact of these materi... Read More

Professor Cliff Surko awarded 2014 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics

"For the invention of and development of techniques to accumulate, confine, and utilize positron plasmas, and for seminal experimental studies of waves and tur... Read More

Cosmology Prize Recognizes 'Inventive' Proposed Test of Fundamental Physics
Two UC San Diego astrophysicists together with a colleague at Columbia University have been awarded a 2014 Buchalter Cosmology Prize for a paper proposing a way to signif... Read More

Previous Awards

UCSD Physics News

Click here to download the most recent Department of Physics' newsletter.

Former UC San Diego Physics Majors Receive Prestigious NSF Fellowships

Ms. Priscilla Kelly and Ms. Lisa Krayer were awarded NSF Graduate Fellowships to continue their studies in Physics.

While at UC San Diego Ms. Kelly worked in the ...Read More

Chelsey Dorow receives prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Chelsey Dorow, UCSD Physics graduate student, has been awarded a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

Chelsey is working with Professor Leonid Butov to study the physi...Read More

Professors Brian Keating and Mike Norman receive 2014 UC San Diego Diversity Award
Congratulations to Brian Keating and Mike Norman for being nominated by Suresh Subramani - Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs to receive a 2014 UC San Diego Di...Read More

Search for extraterrestrial intelligence extends to new realms
Astronomers have expanded the search for extraterrestrial intelligence into a new realm with detectors tuned to infrared light. Their new instrument has just begun to sco...Read More

Previous News

UCSD Physics Colloquium


    Title:  "The Physics of Galaxy Cluster Plasmas"
    Time:   4:00PM
    Speaker:  Eliot Quataert
    Affiliation:  UC Berkeley
    Location:  Garren Auditorium (BSB)

UCSD Physics Seminars


    Title:  TBA
    Time:   4:00PM
    Research Group:  Astrophysics Seminar
    Speaker:  Claire Max, Interim Director, UC Observatories, and Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics
    Affiliation:  UC Santa Cruz
    Location:  SERF 383


    Title:  TBA
    Time:   4:00PM
    Research Group:  Condensed Matter Physics Seminar
    Speaker:  Congjun Wu, University of California, San Diego
    Affiliation:  Topological and Strong Correlation Physics in the px/py-Orbital Bands of the Honeycomb Lattice ? From Solid States to Optical Lattices"
    Location:  Mayer Room


    Title:  "Phase Transitions and Spontaneous Symmetry Breaking in Open Quantum Systems"
    Time:  12:30PM
    Research Group:  Special Condensed Matter Physics Seminar
    Speaker:  Carlos Navarrete-Benloch
    Affiliation:  Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany
    Location:  4681 Mayer Hall Addition

View all seminars